CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE (ORISHA LEGACY, NO 1)

By: ADEYEMI, TOMI

Price: $18.99

Quantity: 1 available


Henry Holt and Company 3/6/2018. New hardcover. in Brand New jacket. Later printing. Store pick: Zelie is a girl with magic in her blood, in a land where magic has been destroyed and outlawed by the cruel king. When she accidentally rescues the princess and the prince/captain of the guard comes after her, Zelie goes on the run with her brother and the princess, discovering that she has been chosen by the gods to bring magic back to the world. But before she can defeat the king and save her people, Zelie must face her own powers and what this mission might cost her and the people she loves. With rich world building and fantastic mythology, readers of Leigh Bardugo's Grisha trilogy will love this book. -Melissa O., store employee


Publisher Description


Instant New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazine's 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweek's 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe's Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Z lie Adebola remembers when the soil of Or sha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Z lie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Z lie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Z lie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Z lie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Or sha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Z lie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." --Entertainment Weekly

"The epic I've been waiting for." --New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic " --New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

"The next big thing in literature and film." --Ebony

"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." --Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

Title: CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE (ORISHA LEGACY, NO 1)

Author Name: ADEYEMI, TOMI

Categories: Young Adult, Store Picks,

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company: 2018

ISBN Number: 1250170974

ISBN Number 13: 9781250170972

Binding: HARDCOVER

Jacket Condition: in Brand New jacket.

lbs: 1.62 lbs

Seller ID: 9781250170972N