Follow Me on Instagram

Fiction Addiction
       Sign up for our Email Newsletter 

Quick Search

Advanced Search
Gift Certificates


Please Note:

Cover pictures are usually generic examples and do not necessarily indicate condition.

If ordering multiple used copies of a title, condition description may not apply to all copies. Email us at if you need more detailed description information.














Carl T. Smith 

Carl T. Smith was born in Chicago, Illinois, but moved south at age two and considers himself a born southerner. Carl attended The Richmond Professional Institute of The College of William & Mary where he earned a BFA degree in Theatre and English. During this time one of his best college friends was author Tom Robbins. This meeting stimulated his interest in writing.

After spending years in professional music, theatre, and education at the high school and college level and creating an entertainment management firm in Philadelphia, Robbins convinced him he should get back to writing, which he had started in college. In 1995 he moved to South Carolina where he wrote his first novel, Nothin’ Left to Lose, which received excellent reviews in Publisher’s Weekly and ForeWord magazine and was listed as one of the Top 10 Books by South Carolina Authors for that year.

Living on Fripp Island, where he received advice and encouragement from author Pat Conroy, Carl wrote the first Sam Larkin novel, Lowcountry Boil, which won an IPPY award for suspense, was nominated for the Southern Independent Bookseller’s "Book of the Year" and The Southern Critics Circle Award for "Book of the Year". Lowcountry Boil has been optioned for film four times and at present is in development as a screenplay by Will Lewis, a producer at Audible Scripts in Louisiana.

Smith followed that success with the second Sam Larkin novel, Louisiana Burn, which also won IPPY and SIBA awards.

After leaving Fripp Island, Carl settled in Greenville, SC where he completed his third Larkin novel, Carolina Fire, which his publisher released as an eBook. This book was succeeded by A Season For Killing, which introduced two new protagonists, Detectives Cole Sturtevant and Carsyn Thoreau, which debuted to excellent reviews.

The fourth Sam Larkin novel, Matthew's Island, was released in March, 2014, again to five-star reviews. One compared its quality to Vince Flynn, Ben Coes, and Brad Thor.

At present Carl is working on a novel, A Place of Shadows and Lies, the story of a disappearance and a suicide in the now-familiar Covington County, South Carolina.

All of Carl’s books are now available as eBooks. Lowcountry Boil, Louisiana Burn, and Nothin’ Left To Lose are also available in print additions.

Purchase his Kobo e-books:

Sam Larkin, Book 3: Carolina Fire

Sam Larkin, Book 4: Matthew's Island

Cole Sturtevant/Carsyn Thoreau, Book 1: A Season for Killing


Sponsored content:

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to

Free Education Resource: Free GED Practice Test


copyright 2010-2012 by Fiction Addiction LLC - 1175 Woods Crossing Rd. #5, Greenville, SC 29607 - P:864-675-0540


Powered by